Top Five Friday – Richy Muirhead

Who? Richy Muirhead, founder of the Scottish Alternative Music Awards

Top five…songs that inspire me

“Here are a list of some tracks that inspire me. They are completely memorable, and not Scottish.

Stardust – Music Sounds Better With You

Every time I hear this track I just feel relaxed. It might be old in some people’s ears (1998), but it has inspired so many musicians in terms of the sound they create, and the simplicity of how music can be created. This track is an anthem – crank it up and get stuck in about it!

Dead Man’s Bones – Pa Pa Power

You maybe haven’t heard of Dead Man’s Bones? But you’ve probably heard of Ryan Gosling, yeah? Well, this is his band. I completely adore this track. This song completely chills me out and makes me relax. You should try it, beautiful effort.

M83 – Midnight City

Again this track is completely euphoric and sounds massive. The saxophone licks at 3.05 are untouchable and uncontrollable. I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of this record. If you don’t feel the energy I honestly think there is something wrong with you!

Slipknot – Wait And Bleed

This song has stuck with me ever since I was 13. It’s raw, yet well structured, and completely abusive. I used to, and still am, a massive Slipknot fan (fuck the haters!). They are one of the best live bands in world. I want to book them before I die (P.S How incredible would that be?) I can’t actually sit straight and listen to this song, and not many songs have effect. The outro is incredible too. Respect, and RIP Paul Gray #2!

Sigur Ros – Svefn-g-englar

Sigur Ros are one in a million. Words can’t describe this. I honestly cannot describe the term beautiful, so I’ll let the music do the talking and I hope you all agree and understand where I’m coming from. Listen to this song – relax, be blessed and enjoy the sound. Everything will be okay.

To conclude – this is only five songs that make me feel inspired and give me the buzz to pursue my future. Perhaps this energy will feed onto you – I really hope so.

Keep up to date with me on Twitter @richymuirhead or follow my business @OfficialSAMA.”

http://officialsama.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

