Protest The Hero

PROTEST THE HERO/ABC2, Glasgow/08.03.12

You’re playing Glasgow on March 8. Why should people come down and check you out?

(Arif Mirabdolbaghi, bass): Why not? Our live show is for fans of progressive rock who don’t like the cheesy showmanship of wanking guitars or a front man with his head up his ass pretending he’s Razor Ramone.

Why is your live show better than anyone else’s?

It’s not. We do our best but we’re not exactly Gwar, or GG Allin, or a stage production of Cats.

On the same night of your Glasgow gig, Cannibal Corpse will be playing upstairs in the same building. Who is going to put on the best gig?

I’ve never seen Cannibal Corpse but they’re immortalized in Ace Ventura so they’ve got to be doing something right.

They say there’s a time and place for everything, so when’s the best time to listen to Protest The Hero and where’s the best place?

I’m not sure because I don’t listen to Protest The Hero. Choose your own adventure!

How would you describe your music to someone who has never heard it before?

New progressive rock with a side of thrash.

Who else is floating your boat in the music scene right now?

Outside of Propagandhi and occasionally Mastodon, there’s precious little in the world of rock/metal/etc that does anything for me. I love listening to The Eagles when I go down on my girlfriend though.

And finally, if you were threatened with death and the only way to escape was to either collaborate with Justin Bieber or Miley Cyrus, who would you pick?

This is a stupid question. I would collaborate with either, collect my sack of money, then fuck off to an island to do drugs and play ukulele til I die at 27.

www.protestthehero.com

Leave a comment