Rob Moir

Rob Moir: One moir tune, one moir tune…

ROB MOIR/Various venues around Scotland from 28 Sept-2 Oct

You’re playing a number of shows in Scotland soon. Why should people come down and check you out?

Because I’m probably related to them – my last name is Moir after all. Once we figure out that we are long lost blood brothers I will play and sing my guts out for those fine folks.

Is Scotland a place that holds many memories for you?

I was in Glasgow once and thought it would be a smart idea to add both ketchup and mayo to curry sauce and fries. The cook told me I was crazy and after the first bite I concurred. Aside from my little understanding of curry fries and appropriate toppings, I have nothing but great memories of hilarious and kind Scots. It’s a country that calls it like it is, and that is special.

Your tour itinerary says you’re also playing at ‘Neil’s House’ and also ‘Emma’s House’ in Aberdeen. What’s that all about?

Yes! I’ve been lucky to find some good people who organized small, acoustic living room concerts for me. Drop me an e-mail if someone wants to pop along, they are some of my favourite concerts to attend and play. The environment and mood is always fantastic.

You used to play in the band Dead Letter Dept. Do you feel more vulnerable playing solo?

Yes and that’s what I love about it. It’s challenged me to step out in front of a new audience every night and create something special and memorable with one voice and one instrument. The margin for error and failure is a lot wider, but that’s what makes it exciting.

What is the most gratifying thing about playing music?

I suppose to hear feedback about a song you wrote that made an impact on someone else. That is hard to compare to anything else I do in my normal life. I also love travelling/touring as it introduces me to people and places I never would have met. I’m waiting for it to get old but it never does.

If you had to invent a new genre for your music, what would it be?

I kinda like ‘Folk-Noir’. I’d like to be the grandfather of Folk-Noir – they would call me ‘Papa Noir’ and already I’m warm and fuzzy thinking about that legacy.

And finally – if you have to pick one musician, dead or alive, to play a set of Rob Moir covers, who would it be and why?

I’d love to have Roy Orbison sit down and play some of my songs on piano, singing them in that booming voice. He’d let me try on his glasses and all I would think about would be how cool this man is.

www.robmoir.com

Leave a Reply

