Top Five Friday – Aerials Up

Who? Neil Mulholland, Aerials Up

Top five…songs that changed my life

Aerials Up: If you ever encounter them in a park, be scared

“I guess the first song I can think of would be ‘Start Me Up’ by the Rolling Stones. I used to come home from nursery every day and rock out in the living room with my Dad to a Rolling Stones live album – it’s my first memorable encounter with rock music, I think. ‘Start Me Up’ was, and still is, my favourite Rolling Stones song.

I think the next couple of songs that spring to mind after that are Queen and Oasis songs. My older brother introduced me to both of them when I was about 10 or 11. I remember laughing hysterically in his face when he played me ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ the first time and being distinctly un-impressed by Oasis’ ‘Live Forever’. After giving them a chance though, both Queen and Oasis became a couple of my favourite bands for a long time mostly thanks to those two songs.

Once I got to about 14 or 15 years old I started looking into bands that had been a bit before my time, discovering the likes of Pink Floyd, The Beatles and Fleetwood Mac through my parents and uncle’s CD collections. I remember hearing ‘The Chain’ by Fleetwood Mac and being amazed. The vocal harmonies blew me away, and still do. If I had to choose one I’d probably say ‘The Chain’ is my favourite song of all time.

I think recently the most important song I’ve heard has been ‘Glitter and Trauma’ by Biffy Clyro. I first heard it when I was about 16 or 17 and needed a few listens to get my small mind round what was going on. Pretty quickly after that Biffy became my favourite band.”

www.aerialsup.com

The Daily Dose is hosting a night of live music at The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore on Saturday 16 July with Aerials Up, Letters and a DJ set from Detour. It is free entry so come on up/down. There is more information here.

Leave a Reply

