Caitlin Lindsay

CAITLIN LINDSAY/Stirling

1. The Twilight Sad at the Tolbooth, Stirling


Being able to capture this enigmatic band was an amazing experience. They’ve always been a favourite of mine and I have to admit I was in quite a surreal place while shooting, couldn’t quite believe what I was doing. I’ve lived in Stirling all my life, watching the music scene grow and expand. It is great to have venues like the Tolbooth who make such a great effort to bring some of the biggest, most inspiring acts to our fair city but who also do much to support the young artists starting out on their journey. They also gave me my first proper photo job. It may have only been covering Battle of the Bands but it really let my passion flourish! I always feel very lucky and humbled to be able to shoot in such an amazing venue filled with people who really believe in the arts and want to keep it alive.

2. Brazil Exists


This is a promo shot I did for my great friends Brazil Exists. They trusted me to do their first photo shoot (mine too) a while back and then came back to me again to do their second. I love doing promo shoots as maybe only two or three photos will get used from the whole set but I’ll always have those little pieces of history…and if they make the big time I’ve got some rare, money making shots on my person – bonus! I think it is very important in a business such as this with so much competition to have great people around you. These guys have helped and supported me so much since I began and I really do hope they get the success they deserve.

3. Fenech-Soler at Reloaded Fest, Tolbooth, Stirling


This was one of the most amazing and daunting days of my life. I was trusted to cover a whole festival on my own that was normally done by three or four photographers, I’d been told. No pressure there then! Luckily everything went incredibly well and the shots turned out great. I particularly like this shot as this was one of the last times Fenech-Soler played a small venue. Got a bit carried away while shooting as these guys put on such a show and have cracking stage presence. Think everyone in the building knew they were watching something special.

4. Miniature Dinosaurs at King Tut’s, Glasgow


Think I’ve been to a very high percentage of these guys’ gigs! Love them all and the top-notch music they produce. I feel privileged to watch them as they have come so far in the couple of years they have been together and I hope I can continue to watch as they get bigger and bigger. I feel being behind the lens gives you a great view of how people grow, change and react. The ‘Dinos’ have really grown into their sound I think and I believe are going to leave a good mark on music, as do all who listen to their recordings and see them live. I suggest catching them now before they sky rocket!

5. Little Eskimos at Fubar, Stirling


I’m also very lucky to work with Bulge Promotions who put on many, many amazing gigs in Stirling. They, along with the Tolbooth, put so much time and effort into making the Stirling music scene as great as it is. And with compelling bands like Little Eskimos breaking through from the Stirling scene I think we’re not far off being close contenders with the likes of Glasgow and Edinburgh and I couldn’t be happier to be part of such a vibrant, diverse community.

Equipment – Nikon D80, Nikon D7000, Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G, Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G

Caitlin Lindsay Photography Facebook

Leave a Reply

