Beans on Toast

BEANS ON TOAST/Aberdeen, Dundee, Glasgow/01.04.11, 02.04.11, 03.04.11

You’re playing throughout Scotland this coming week. Why should people take the time to check you out?

I’d like to think that people who come to the show will enjoy themselves. Worst comes to the worst they can watch me enjoy myself….

How would you describe your music to someone that’s never heard you before?

Drunk folk, with lots of talking in between.

You’re a self-proclaimed ‘opinionated folk singer’. What in particular have you got opinions on?

I took the ‘opinionated folk singer’ line from a recent review that I read as I thought it was kinda funny. If I do have opinions it’s probably worth pointing out that they are under-educated and most probably misguided. I think that most, if not all song writers have opinions but my songs are all very to the point and straight forward. For this upcoming tour song subjects will range from full moons, the over-population of the world, love, drugs and past life experiences.

The tour is entitled the ‘April Fools tour’. What’s the best April Fools prank you’ve pulled on someone?

In all honesty, I can’t remember…

When’s the best time of day to listen to your music?

It works best at a live show, so I guess between 8pm and 1am, depending on the venue’s license.

What musical achievement of yours has made you most proud?

I’ve been doing this a long time and have done some pretty dope shit, from sharing a stage with Henry Rollins and Billy Bragg, to touring the country with acts that I admire. If I had to name one thing though it’d probably be my shows and involvement with the Glastonbury festival. Just because when I went as a child it changed my life and now I get to go every year and sing my songs.

And finally, what’s the best addition to beans on toast? Cheese? Tomato sauce?

I chose the name because it was simple and cheap and it does the job. So I guess I’d rather not have any additions to it.

www.beansontoastmusic.com

Leave a Reply

