Gillian Christie

GILLIAN CHRISTIE/East Kilbride

If you like _ and _ then you will like Gillian Christie. Fill in the blanks.

If you like folk pop and hearing the contents of one’s diary then you will like Gillian Christie

What makes you different from all the other female singer songwriters out there?

I wouldn’t claim to be entirely different from every other female singer songwriter out there – after all, in such a widely populated genre, there are bound to be similarities between many of the artists involved. However, I would say that I have seen few others who would choose to convey so much unapologetic honesty in their lyrics.

I presume Gillian Christie is your real name. If you had to have a stage name, what would it be?

Oh, it would have to be something exotic like Rhubarb Crumble.

Do you feel vulnerable because your music is just your voice and an acoustic guitar?

If anything, I would feel more vulnerable with a full band. When there’s just me and my guitar, there’s only one person who needs to try and not mess up!

What lyrical themes run through your songs?

All the nonsense of my everyday life.

Would you listen to your own music if another artist had released it?

Probably, mainly because I’d be completely gobsmacked that someone else had written songs which fitted my own situations perfectly.

Are you an optimist, pessimist or a realist? And why?

In my opinion, being a pessimist is essentially the same as being a realist, and I’m definitely not either of those…So I suppose I’m probably an optimist?

And finally, what type of biscuit would represent your music?

Mint Viscount, for obvious reasons.

www.myspace.com/gillianchristieacoustic

Leave a Reply

