Lissie


LISSIE
/Oran Mor, Glasgow/26.10.10

You seem to be making a big impact on the UK. Do you see the the country as becoming potentially a new home to you?

Well, I think I’ll be spending a lot of time there. Of course I’ll still go back to my house in California and see my family in Illinois, but if I could afford, I would love to have a flat in London that I came to every once in a while. It’d expensive so I’d have to sell a lot more albums to do it. I especially love spending the summer and doing all the festivals, driving in the countryside. I would love to have a place in England maybe some day.

You speak about England a lot, but what about Scotland?

I’ve never spent much time in Scotland. I’ve been there a few times, but mostly I’ve been in London. I love Edinburgh and I haven’t really spent a lot of time there. I love Glasgow too, but we go and play shows and then we leave. And when we drive it’s beautiful. It’s heavenly, like how gorgeous it is. But I’ve met some really nice Scottish people too. This band from Glasgow Kassidy, they’ve become really good friends of ours. We like the way they talk. They’re total sweethearts. Everyone I’ve met from Scotland seems like they’re really genuine.

Nice very people.

And they’re enthusiastic at concerts too, they’ll give a lot of energy.

Enthusiastic and drunk usually.

Well that’s alright, I’ll just join right in.

Your music seems a bit retro sounding – is that fair to say?

It wasn’t intended that way, but if that’s how people react to it then that’s fine. I think there’s something fresh about it, just in that I think I’m trying to speak from a unique voice that’s my own – but yeah, retro wasn’t the intention. But I write the songs, show them to the musicians and then we just play what we feel like playing, so it’s just as much to do with the connection that I have to the other musicians when we’re working on songs than…it’s more like it happens, we just do what feels right.

What was your big break in the music industry?

Well, I’ve had a lot of little breaks. I guess signing to Colombia – I signed with Colombia records in the UK – was really when things took off for me. It took about two years after I was signed to them before my album was even being made, but signing with them and really being lucky and having a good team of people I trusted, who gave me the freedom to be myself and didn’t try to mould me or anything.

Do you wear the trousers in all this then?

Yeah, I’d say I do. But like I said before, I don’t take credit for every single thing I do, because I’m a team, with my band, my A&R guy at my label, with my manager – they know me and they help me become better. I wear the pants and I make the finial decisions, but I’m willing to consider other people’s ideas and admit when they’re good.

www.lissie.com

2 Responses to Lissie

  1. […] all the bands who have been interviewed – from big-hitters like Blink-182, Eliza Doolittle, Lissie and AFI to local talent like Blue Sky Archives, Kochka, Come on Gang! and Fiona Soe […]

  2. […] year, we spoken to a number of stonking Scottish talent, chinwagged with the likes of Blink-182, Lissie and AFI, showcased Scottish photographers and dipped our toes in the darkside with our ‘Metal […]

Leave a Reply

