Nicola Sharkey

Nicola Sharkey/Dundee

1. The View.


It was The View‘s finishing date of their 2008 UK tour at Fat Sam’s in Dundee. Primarily, it was the first time I had ever been in a photo pit, and it was quite an exciting experience all around as they were one of the biggest acts I had taken photos of at the time. I was allowed to take photos during the first three songs, no flash. The group were excellent to photograph, and the lighting was perfect that night.

2. Beautiful By Design.


One of my favourite acts to photograph are Beautiful By Design. Their live show is spectacular – they have so much energy onstage, it’s incredible. The photograph I have chosen was taken at Ivory Blacks in Glasgow, where the group were being filmed for TFTV. Initially that night I was supposed to be attending an exhibition of photography work at Stereo, which my work was actually included in. However, I knew I couldn’t miss Beautiful By Design‘s show, so I ended up going to see them instead! It has definitely been one of my favourite live sets I have taken this year.

3. S.C.U.M.


This photograph of S.C.U.M was taken at The Captain’s Rest in Glasgow. The band had a couple of strobe lights with them, and the venue had very dim red light in the background. Needless to say it was one of the hardest gigs to photograph, but I like a good challenge as it always keeps you on top of everything, and makes you realise what your strengths and weaknesses are. For this shot, I managed to capture a moment in time with the strobe light of Thomas Cohen playing the tambourine.

4. Ipso Facto.


I took this photograph of Ipso Facto, also at The Captain’s Rest in Glasgow. They are an all female band, dressed in monochrome, who play psychedelic rock music with a 60’s mod vibe. Sadly the band are no longer together, but I still think this is one of my favourite shots I have taken. My main idea was to capture the vintage black and white look that the band endear.

5. The Mirror Trap.


My first ever promotional photoshoot was The Mirror Trap. As I had never taken anything similar previously, I was quite worried that I wouldn’t be able to achieve the results. However, I am really happy with what I managed to capture in the end. I never imagined myself doing a promo shoot before, so I am glad that I took that next step. It made me realise there are no boundaries in photography. The photo itself was taken at a beach and we had mirror boxes that the band brought along with them to incorporate with their name. It was a great idea and it really completed the photoshoot.

www.nicolasharkeyphotography.com

One Response to Nicola Sharkey

Leave a Reply

