Claire Thomson

CLAIRE THOMSON/GLASGOW

1. Jack Penate. King Tut’s, Glasgow. 16 June, 2007. Panasonic DMC-FZ7 – no flash.

I thought I should start off with the first gig I ever took any pictures at. The line-up was Jack Penate, Lethal Bizzle and Officer Kicks. Standing at the back of King Tuts with my wee camera in hand I started to take a few pics of the first support act – needless to say none of them turned out too great! A few drinks in with a bit more confidence I headed to the front to take some more but with no idea what I was doing I was using my flash I had unblurred pics of the Bizzle but the colour was poor! The security came up to me and said ‘Jack Penate‘s management says no flash and only the first three songs’. As I’d never done anything like this I sorta got a bit scared and said ‘OK’ no doubt in a squeaky voice. And though since I didn’t have a huge expensive camera and no flash = no decent pictures…but I think this turned out OK.

2. Dizzee Rascal. ABC, Glasgow. 15 November 2008. Panasonic DMC-FZ7 – flash used.

After my first experience, it was over a year before I found the confidence to take a camera to a gig again, but Dizzee Rascal is great live and I couldn’t resist the urge to try again. I couldn’t quite get the confidence to go anywhere near the front again though – this shot was taken from the bar area. Got to say, the FZ7 with it’s 12x zoom pulled it off quite well considering. I decided though that gig photography was probably going to be a no go unless I got myself a better camera and more courage.

3. Midnight Lion. Hinterland, Sub Club, Glasgow. 3 April 2010. Nikon D90, 18 – 105 mm f/3.5-5.6.

Good Friday wasn’t so good in 2008 and I had a small car crash – don’t worry, no-one was injured – just a bit sore but the compensation let me invest in buying a D90. I shot mostly friends and relative’s weddings and christenings and I didn’t start taking pictures at gigs again till Hinterland this year! It was pretty great having so many photographers at each gig; it meant I could snap away without worry of being shouted at! This was my favourite picture of the day. I just love the light – and the small slither of tongue poking out just makes it for me.

4. Sleigh Bells. Art School, Stag & Dagger, Glasgow. 22 May 2010. Nikon D90, 50 mm f/1.8.

I chose this shot as it was a complete and utter fluke, but I love it! It was heading late into the night with lots of alcohol fuelled males and photographers baying for the attention of the sexy Alexis Krauss of Sleigh Bells who was tearing up the dingy dark Art School stage – I’m guessing there were so many flashes going off that it completely blew out the background!

5. Pooch. Stereo, Glasgow. Charity event for Beatson Oncology Unit. 19 June 210. Nikon D90, 18-105 mm f/3.5-5.6.

And now my final choice…Lola Pooch! Pooch are one of my favourite bands to shoot! Great songs and a front woman that knows how to work it! This was a charity event run by Glasgow Podcart, who I’d like to thank – if it hadn’t been for their musical recommendations, events and online Twitter banter – I’d never have been to half the gigs I have in the recent years or met so many lovely folk like them, AyeTunes & Peenko and so many others that would take too long to mention…

www.catthouse.co.uk

www.flickr.com/photos/catt_231

www.twitter.com/catt231

One Response to Claire Thomson

Leave a Reply

