Fiona McKinlay

FIONA MCKINLAY

GLASGOW

1. General Fiasco at Middlesbrough Music Live

Sunny day, well-lit stage…this was an easy shot, I’m not going to lie. But the colours from the lights, and the reflection of Middlesbrough in his sunglasses make me love it. They were first band on the Main Stage, and it was the start of a very good day. I could switch it for something with a better story for this Top 5, but this is not X Factor, y’know.

Equipment: Canon 450d – Canon EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM lens

2. Twin Atlantic at T in the Park

I see myself as primarily a music fan, then everything else. So sometimes I shun getting a photo pass to avoid the stress, like T in the Park 2008. There was this horrible point around 5.30pm where We Are Scientists were on the NME Stage, Twin Atlantic were on in the T Break Tent, and Biffy Clyro were on the main stage. My wee brain nearly burst with this monstrous clash, but I managed to see a bit of everyone. Was standing pretty far back and held my wee compact camera as high as my wee arms would stretch. This photo was pretty much an accident, but everybody seems to love it.

Equipment: Fujifilm FinePix F50fd

3. Twin Atlantic at Middlesbrough Music Live

Twin Atlantic are as much of a joy to photograph as they are to watch and hear. I LOVE them, and I got so many good shots during this set that I almost made my entire Top 5 from it. Their rockstar moves can be a bit quick to catch in normal venues with average lighting, but outside in the sunshine is a total win. I think this was the first time I’d seen the boys play outside Scotland, and it was a pretty proud moment watching hundreds of English kids bouncing around and singing along.

Equipment: Canon 450d – Canon EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM lens

4. Sucioperro at Belladrum

I got a lift to Belladrum 2009 with the lovely Sam Isaac. When we arrived, I found out that his set clashed with Twin Atlantic‘s and Sucioperro‘s. Fortunately for me, though, Sucio‘s van broke down and they ended up playing at the end of the night. I missed most of Sam’s set to see Twin Atlantic, and he had a nap in the car while I watched Sucio so that he had the energy to drive us back south. I am a terrible, terrible friend. Sam’s quit music now, but you should check him out anyway. He made very nice songs. Sorry Sam.

Equipment: Canon 450d – Canon EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM lens

5. The View at T on the Fringe

I hadn’t shot anything big and outdoors before this happened at Meadowbank Stadium, and some other photographer in the pit told me my lens would not live up to the challenge. He pretty much scoffed at me for trying. Some photographers have a habit of doing that kind of thing, especially if they’re old enough to be your dad and have equipment that cost them a few thousand pounds that they need to make themselves feel better about. Oh well. I was pretty pleased with what I got!

Equipment: Canon 350d – Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8-4

http://www.flickr.com/photos/donkeyjacket45/

One Response to Fiona McKinlay

Leave a Reply

